Triple Irish Chain Quilt, part deux

It’s a quilt! Well…

it’s getting there at least. I am happy to say that I have finally started the triple Irish chain quilt, and while I still have a ways to go on it, it’s starting to take shape! There are two block patterns used in this quilt. The one pictured above is the first block, and all 12 used in the quilt are ready to go!

The technique used in this quilt is one I’ve never used before. It’s called strip piecing. (I found a good explanation of strip piecing here.) Strip piecing has quickly become my new favorite way to make a quilt! I love seeing a quilt come together, so I’ve been taking pictures every step along the way.

Here are the strips for Block A. Before cutting the strips, I ironed the seams flat. I’ve never really been a big fan of ironing. If I grab a shirt that’s wrinkled I’m more likely to throw it in the dryer to get the wrinkles out rather than grab the iron. Much to my surprise, the first time I ever ironed a sewing project, I actually found it enjoyable! There is something about it that I find relaxing.

Once I finished ironing, the strips were cut into smaller pieces, and sewn into blocks. After a little more ironing, Block A was finished!

Next, I’ll be making Block B, and then I can sew the quilt top together! Can’t wait to see how it all turns out!

Follow the progress of this quilt:

The Beginning of A Triple Irish Chain Quilt

Triple Irish Chain Quilt, part deux

Block B is DONE!

4 thoughts on “Triple Irish Chain Quilt, part deux

  1. Your blocks are looking nice =^_^= I just got started on my sewing for mine last night. Can’t wait to see the whole quilt come together.

Leave a Reply

