Newborn Photography, or, Possible Career Choice?

A friend of mine recently had a baby and I talked her into letting me take some photos! This is baby Taylor. Isn’t he adorable?!

This was my first time ever photographing a newborn. Ben tried once a while ago. That’s when he realized he will never be a newborn photographer. I think I would really enjoy it.

It definitely takes a LOT of patience. I don’t normally have a crazy amount of patience, but when it comes to babies I have all the patience in the world! I do think I would really enjoy being a newborn photographer. (The best part, I could make a lot of my own props!)

Remember this hat? Yes, that is the hat I made that ended up too small for a newborn!! After a TON of stretching, we were able to get it MOSTLY on, at least on enough to take a photo. Thanks to my friend Mande, and her super awesome hat sizing chart, I shouldn’t be having this problem again. Speaking of Mande, I’ve got some exciting stuff coming up!! In exchange for some sewing help (more on this in a later post), Mande agreed to let me tag along on one of her upcoming newborn shoots!! I’m a very hands on type of learner, so I am incredibly excited about this opportunity to learn from someone with MUCH more experience!

This is the photo I was most proud of from my shoot! When I took it, I didn’t think I was going to be able to make it look good. Thank goodness for Photoshop!

Not too bad for a first try! Although the one area I know I DEFINITELY could use some improvement on is the lighting.

What are your thoughts? Any tips from other newborn photographers out there?

11 thoughts on “Newborn Photography, or, Possible Career Choice?

  1. Seeing that I almost always use available light, controlled lighting frightens me! I have a good friend who is an excellent fashion and wedding photographer and watching him light models recently has taught me that it isn’t that frightening at all. Just requires practice and a bit of confidence!! :)

Leave a Reply

